Stila In the Light Palette | Review & Swatches

Behold, the Stila In the Light palette, a collection of 10 buttery soft matte and shimmer eyeshadows (including the cult-favorite shadow, Kitten!). I have had my eye on this palette for quite some time now and really debated with myself about whether or not to purchase it because I had SO many neutral palettes and eyeshadows already, but after watching them in-store and hearing the name pop up in sao many beauty videos and reviews, I jumped at the chance while at Sephora’s VIB sale a few weeks ago.

Disclaimer: All products mentioned were purchased by me with my own money. No products were sent to me and I receive no earnings from any companies due to this blog post.

The palette retails for $39 and it is available for purchase at UltaSephora, or Stila’s website.

The pink-brown palette comes in a cardboard packaging with gold lettering across the center. The set also comes with a Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Damsel (matte dark brown) as well as a how-to booklet with a variety of eyeshadow looks (6 looks) and how to achieve them, step-by-step.

Will you just look at those colors? Oh lord, I swear I have so many neutral palettes and I love those taupe-y, light brown and dark brown shades- I use them nearly every day! And yet when I’m presented with yet another palette, I’m swooning all over again.

So, let’s take a look here. There are 10 shadows, arranged into 2 rows of 5. There are 6 shimmery and 4 matte shades, mainly warm-toned colors. While swatched, the matte shadows seemed to be more pigmented while the shimmery shadows didn’t show up as much on my skin which is strange because it’s normally the other way around. Both of the dark matte colors were very creamy and the rest were build-ably beautiful.

Here is the Smudge Stick in Damsel, a dark brown matte color. When I swatched this on my hand and even through washing my hands and rubbing the color, it would not budge! This color is seriously waterproof. I had to take it down with a makeup wipe and scrub it off for it to leave no trace on my hand. I love that it came with a brown and not black because I feel like we all own too many black liners, am I right?

Here are some close-ups of the shadows, in quartets and the last two in a duo.

Here are the swatches of all the shadows:

[indoor lighting]

(top row, L-R: bare, kitten, bliss, sunset, sandstone)

(bottom row, L-R: bubbly, gilded gold, luster, night sky, ebony)

[outdoor lighting]

Smudgestick Eye Liner in Damsel

I’m really excited to use this palette, I think the palette is complete with a transition shade, several lid shades and inner corner highlights, brow bone shades and great darker colors to contour the crease and pack onto the Outer V. I can’t wait to begin creating looks with the shadows and see what works!

What are your thoughts on the palette? Are you considering picking it up?

Follow me on Instagram for more beauty pictures, swatches and deals: @stay.beautifful

4 thoughts on “Stila In the Light Palette | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

