Tarte Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette | Review & Swatches!

Hey yaaaall 🙂 Sorry I’ve been gone for a bit, I had some lots of work to do as well as Thanksgiving festivities and then Black Friday and Cyber Monday pretty much took over (…my bank account) and I will have hauls for that coming up soon! But for now, I’m going to review the Tarte Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette.

Now, this palette won’t be officially released until sometime in January 2015 (I heard it will be released to Sephora Dec.15th!) with the rest of Tarte’s spring collection. They had an early release period for about four days in late November and I saw the deal, snatched it, and it was gone. So don’t worry, it’s not limited edition or sold out or anything, that’s why I am still reviewing it- because it will be out sometime soon. Promise. 😉

The delicious matte palette retails for $44.00 for 0.64 oz and showcases twelve NEW buttery smooth, Amazonian-clay infused, long wearing eyeshadows. The eyeshadows are inspired by and created for Tartlettes (or Tarte Cosmetic fans!) The names of the eyeshadows are very women-empowering which I am all about. Names include: super mom, best friend, multi-tasker, force of nature, caregiver and more.

IMG_1063

Here is a list of the shadows along with the shade colors:

  • Free Spirit (Cream)
  • Force of Nature (Nude)
  • Dreamer (Warm Brown) *favorite!
  • Multi-Tasker (Chocolate) *favorite!
  • Caregiver (Pale Pink)
  • Natural Beauty (Mauve)
  • Best Friend (Mulberry)
  • Bombshell (Dark Plum) *favorite!
  • Super Mom (Ivory)
  • Wanderer (Light Brown)
  • Power Player (Taupe)
  • Fashionista (Black)

Here are the swatches:


IMG_1535

(first and second rows)

IMG_1534

(second and third rows)

Many people say the whole “nudes” trend is overplayed with Urban Decay’s Naked palettes, Lorac’s Pro Palettes 1&2, The Balm’s Nude Tude palette, Maybelline’s The Nudes and many many other eyeshadow collections. But how often do you see an entire palette filled with pigmented mattes which such beautiful purple-y, pink-y tones? I am such a sucker for nude, neutral palettes, I admit it. So I may be a little bit biased when I say I have not reached daily for a palette to use since my Lorac Pro palette. I love the consistency of the shadows and how there is such a wide variety of shades.

We all have palettes packed to the brim of satin, shimmer and glittery shadows. Look at the Naked palettes- they are pretty much 80% shimmer with 20% matte shadows- if not less. And don’t get me wrong- I love my shimmery eyeshadows, I barely go a day without something shiny on my lids. But we rarely get a whole range of pure mattes. Since we have so many shimmery shadows that we have at our fingertips, we can bust out this palette for those dark matte colors for our crease and outer V, or that all-matte look we have in mind.

For some reason, I love all matte shadows in the fall and wintertime, paired with a nice bold lip. I think it adds such a nice sophisticated touch when wrapped up in some cozy sweaters and scarves, leaving plum colored lip stains on our coffee mugs on a chilly morning.

All in all, I am very happy with this purchase, and I am definitely now a fan of Tarte’s eyeshadows, and I can’t wait to put more of a dent in each one of these beautiful eyeshadows! 🙂

What do you think of the palette? Will you be adding this to your Christmas wishlist?

One thought on “Tarte Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette | Review & Swatches!

  1. Pingback: My 2014 Beauty Favorites! | Tiffany's Epiphanies

Leave a Reply

