Maybelline Creamy Mattes Lip Color | Review & Swatches!

Hey everybody πŸ™‚ I hope you’re all enjoying the new year and all it has to offer! I am here today (wow I sound like a Youtuber) with a quick little review for the Maybelline Creamy Matte lipstick line. It will be short and painless as I only own two, but I definitely have a feel for the rest of the line.

There are ten colors in the line ranging from nudes, to plums, to eccentric orange and fuschia, to bright red. They retail for $7.99 and can be found at Ulta, Target, or your local drugstore. It claims to “deliver a burst of bold lip color and a surge of creamy texture in make-a-statement shades, for mattes your lips will love to wear!”

I totally and 100% agree with the above statement. I own two out of the line, Daringly Nude and Touch of Spice.

IMG_1014

Touch of Spice is a plummy shade with a reddy-brown undertone, and Daringly Nude is a muted pinky nude shade. Both are extremely creamy as the name and description would suggest, but are definitely matte. I will say, though, that if you aren’t careful, it can dry out your lips (not as much as you would expect) but if you put on some lip balm or exfoliate beforehand, you won’t be able to tell. I’ve applied both lipsticks without balm and exfoliating and it turned out fine, but if your lips are extra chapped, it may highlight those features as it is matte.

But with that said, the formula is extremely pigmented especially with Touch of Spice- so pigmented that I don’t swipe on the lipstick or press hard at all, I actually have to dab it on because I don’t want it to be so bold, I don’t want that much of a color on my lips. I try to press it on gently for a nice flush wash of plum.

They also wear for an extended period of time. I had it on for 4-5 hours and I had applied around the afternoon and had to wipe it off to eat dinner in the evening. (Because I feel so weird eating with anything on my lips! Am I the only one?)

I heard Touch of Spice is a dupe for Mac’s Twig or Spice lip liner, and after seeing the side by side comparisons, I will definitely buy Maybelline’s Touch of Spice over and over again- it’s a fraction of the cost for Mac and it’s probably more pigmented! I love it.

Here are the swatches:

IMG_1012

And on my lips:

IMG_0525

What do you think, will you be picking up any shades from the line? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Maybelline Creamy Mattes Lip Color | Review & Swatches!

  1. Pingback: Get the Kylie Jenner Lip: MAC Soar Lip Liner | Review & Swatches | Tiffany's Epiphanies

Leave a Reply

