The Balm Nude ‘Tude Palette | Review & Swatches

Hey all! I am back for yet another review 🙂 I am reviewing the Balm’s Nude ‘Tude palette today, another neutral palette- yes, I know! I can’t keep my hands off of these neutral shadows, they’re just so beautiful. Go ahead, sign me up for a shadow detox. I’ll even wear the patch.

But in all seriousness, I am crazy about this palette right now. It retails for $36.00 and holds 12 shadows including shimmer, satin and matte. It comes with a mini double ended brush, an angled side and a rounded tip side. I had heard such amazing reviews on this palette and I kept thinking “I have so many neutral shadows, I have so many neutral shadows…” and kindof talked myself out of it, but I ended up taking the plunge and purchasing it on the palette and I am really glad that I did.

Here is a picture of the packaging and the shadows:

IMG_2242 2

IMG_2243

There are two versions of the palette, one with a vintage, black and white looking room, and one with adorable pin-up girls hanging out underneath the shadows, but both of them contain the exact same shadows. The packaging has a very slim, cardboard feel with a magnetic closure.

Honestly,  think this may be one of my favorite neutral palettes I’ve purchased in a while! Don’t get me wrong, I adore my Naked palette, but there are so many shimmers and not enough mattes for me to create a blown out smokey eye, which is my absolute favorite look to do. I will wear it at 9 in the morning to go to brunch with the queen (what?) or to a nightclub at midnight (neither places are places you would find me lol) But I love my Tartelette palette as well, but I find that I don’t even use the first two columns of eyeshadow, only the last two which have the darker shadows. Same with the Lorac Pro, I use Sable and Espresso, but that’s pretty much it. I love the light shimmery shadows for lid colors, but where are my darker, warmer crease colors at?

So when I swatched and played around with these shadows, I found such a good amount of dark shadows for a good smokey eye, there’s a purple, a black, dark brown, matte light brown for transition, and they’re all so buttery smooth!

Unfortunately, there was a bit of patchiness and skipping when I applied some of the darker matte colors like “Sexy” and “Sleek” and “Silly” wasn’t as pigmented as I hoped, but the lighter colors swatched beautifully, and they all seemed to blend fine on the lid, so I wasn’t too disappointed.

i was a little disappointed, though, at the size of the shadows. I knew since there were so many that they weren’t going to be huge, but they turned out to be so miniscule to me, at just the size of a fingerprint. But hopefully the pans are deeper than I think, and how quickly does a whole palette get used up anyway, right? So I’m not going to complain, but just something to be aware of in case you’re thinking of getting it!

Shadows:

Sassy: frosted white (satin)
Stubborn: light-medium peach (frost)
Snobby: gold-shimmered yellow (satin)
Stand-offish: light medium bronze (shimmer)
Selfish: brown-grey taupe (frost)
Sophisticated: dark brown with bronze speckles (shimmer)
Sultry: warmed up medium brown (satin)
Schitzo: warm, golden bronze-brown (pearl)
Sexy: rich burgundy (matte)
Serious: medium dark-black (matte)

Now, to the swatches!

FullSizeRender 11 FullSizeRender 12

(Sassy, Stubborn, Selfish, Sophisticated and close-ups)

IMG_2011IMG_2012  

(Sexy, Serious, Snobby, Stand-offish)
FullSizeRender 9
FullSizeRender 10

(Sultry, Seductive, Silly, Sleek and close-ups)

5 thoughts on “The Balm Nude ‘Tude Palette | Review & Swatches

  1. I enjoy this palette just as much as the Nude Dude palette that was released this past Fall. I agree about the dark shades, but tend only to really use them sparingly anyways so it’s no biggie. But it’s lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: I Was Featured on a Blog! | NEW L’oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation Review! | Tiffany's Epiphanies

Leave a Reply

