Soft and Romantic Valentine’s Day Look | Hair & Makeup Tutorial

(This post went up a few days ago, but I scheduled it weird and I don’t think it went up correctly, so I’m reposting it! I know that Valentine’s Day is today but you can wear this anytime- in the daytime, date night, girls night out, etc! Hope you had an amazing Valentine’s Day, I love you guys!!)

Hey beautiful people! We’re almost at Valentine’s Day! Crazy how the new year is already zooming by so quickly. Valentine’s Day is a fun day regardless of if you’re spending it with a significant other, your girls, or even on your own! I will most likely be spending it on my own, or not celebrating at all! I’m much more of a homebody like that, but it definitely is fun to get all glammed up once in a while, hence the tutorial!

Here is what the completed look should be- soft, loose waves, and a soft, blended smokey eye with a bright inner corner, and winged liner.

IMG_4817IMG_4833

Start with a clean, moisturized face for a smooth, blank canvas. Tip: Apply makeup 30 minutes after applying your daytime moisturizer so it has time to settle into your skin without leaving your face too wet or greasy-looking.

  1. I used my Smashbox Color Correcting Primer to cancel out any redness on my nose, cheeks and chin. I applied Smashbox Photo Finish Primer on the other areas of my face.
  2. Then I applied Revlon’s Colorstay foundation all over my face with a beauty blender, and spot concealed some blemishes with NARS Creamy Concealer with a pointed concealer brush.
  3. For my brows, I used Anastasia Beverly Hill’s Brow Wiz in Dark Brown to carve out my brows, Dipbrow Pomade in Ebony to fill in, and Eyeko Brow Gel to set- this brow gel is amazing, it’s like hairspray for your brows! I have a full brow tutorial: here
  4. Now we are moving onto eyes. I used MAC’s Paint Pot in Soft Ochre and applied that all over the lid. This prevents eyeshadows from creasing and allows it to last all day. I go in with my transition shade first, with a Sigma E40 brush or any fluffy brush, and use Creme Bruleé from Makeup Geek all into the crease and a little bit higher. This will help your shadows blend seamlessly.
  5. Next, I took my Tarte Tartelette palette, a beautiful all matte palette, and used the shade Dreamer and slowly blended that into the crease. I’m going for a brown smokey crease, so I took the shades Dreamer (light brown), Multi-Tasker (dark brown), and a little bit of Fashionista (black) and began building it up, layer by layer, and only adding a hint of black, and blending it along as I go. The key to blended eyeshadow is to blend as you go with each layer so that you don’t have any harsh lines.
  6. Once my crease is blended out, I go into my lid color. On the outer half of my lid, I used Darkhouse (shimmery dark bronze) from my Urban Decay Naked palette, and Sidecar (shimmery champagne) on the inner corner. I smoked out my lower lashline with the same crease colors from the Tartelette palette.
  7. Then, I lined my bottom lash line with Tarte’s Smoldereyes pencil in bronze agate, lined my waterline with Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Eye pencil in black, drew on a winged liner with Eyeko’s liquid liner, and applied a few coats of YSL’s Babydoll mascara.
  8. For the rest of my face, I used my NARS Ita brush to contour with my Anastasia Contour Kit, applied Tarte’s Amazonian Clay blush in Blushing Bride and topped it off with The Balm’s Mary Lou-Manizer highlight.
  9. On my lips, I moisturized with First Aid Beauty’s Lip therapy balm, and applied Colourpop’s Lumiére and MAC’s Velvet Teddy on top.

And that’s it for the makeup!

Onto the hair, I used my Hot Tools wand in 1 1/2 inches and I separated my hair into two sections. I took about an inch of hair and didn’t use the clip, but wrapped it around the barrel, including the very ends of my hair, and held it there for about 10 seconds or so, and released it into a spring-like shape into my palm to cool. I did this in clockwise and counter clock-wise sections all around my head, and pinned the sides back with some bobby pins. I sprayed a bit of hairspray and that was all I did to create my loose, romantic waves!

I hope this tutorial was helpful for you and you enjoyed it. if you did, be sure to like and comment!

Follow me on Instagram for more mini tutorials and pictorials: @stay.beautifful

Happy Valentine’s Day!
Tiffany xoxo

Leave a Reply

